Hi! I’m Jerome Dinal Herath(everyone calls me Dinal). I’m a computer science PHD candidate at State University of New York (SUNY) Binghamton. I completed my bachelors degree in science from University of Colombo, Sri Lanka specializing in computational physics. Click to follow my blog updates , talk to me or check out my recent work in [google scholar], RG or .

[Curriculum Vitae]


Currently I’m part of the SVR Lab @ SUNY Binghamton under the supervision of Professor Ping Yang and co-supervision of Professor Guanhua Yan where my current research focuses on utilizing blockchain technology and machine learning for building secure systems. In terms of research experience, before my PhD-I have worked on research projects spanning the areas of wireless communications and robotics. During which, I gained experience in Markovian modeling, Optimizations, Deep Learning and Robotic simulations.




  • PhD. Computer Science, State University of New York(SUNY) Binghamton.(Fall 2017-Present)[link]
  • Bsc. Special Degree in Computational Physics(First Class Hons), University of Colombo, Sri Lanka.(2017)[link]
  • Professional Postgraduate Diploma in Marketing, Chartered Institute of Marketing(CIM),United Kingdom(UK).(2015)[link]
  • St. Joseph’s College, Colombo-10, Sri Lanka.(2011)[link]

Awards and Scholarships

  • Student travel grant to attend ACM/IEEE Symposium on Architectures for Networking and Communications (ANCS-2018).
  • NSF Student travel grant to attend International Conference on Communications (ICC-2018).
  • Dr. Sarath Gunapala Gold Medal for Computational Physics (2017).
  • MIND (Munasinghe Institute for Development) scholarship (2015-2016).{www.mindlanka.org}


  • Graduate Teaching Assistant, Watson School of Engineering & Applied Science, SUNY Binghamton.(Fall-2018, Spring-2019)
  • Graduate Research Assistant, Watson School of Engineering & Applied Science, SUNY Binghamton.(Fall-2017, Spring-2018, Summer-2018)
  • Temporary Lecturer, Department of Physics, University of Colombo.(2017)
  • Assistant Head Prefect, St. Joseph’s college, Colombo-10, Sri Lanka. (2011-2012)